Technical FAQs

Ask a Question

Category of load for contactor

The current rating of the contactor depends on utilization category. For example IEC categories are described as:
AC1 : Non-inductive or slightly inductive loads
AC2 : Starting of slip-ring motors
AC3 : Starting of squirrel-cage motors and switching off only after the motor is up to speed. (Make Locked Rotor Amps(LRA), Break Full Load Amps(FLA))
AC4 : Starting of squirrel-cage motors with inching and plugging duty. Rapid Start/Stop. (Make and Break LRA)
AC11: Auxiliary (control) circuit
Was this helpful?
What can we do to improve the information ?